Monthly Archives: August 2018

Register for OVC TTAC’s Webinar: “An Introduction to ACES and Elder Abuse”

Please join the Elder Justice Initiative (EJI) webinar on September 21, 2018, at 2:00 p.m. eastern time, as Gabriella Grant, Director of the California Center of Excellence for Trauma-Informed Care, discusses the connection between early adverse experiences, often called “ACES,” and the older adult population. Ms. Grant will discuss how past victimization can relate to future victimization later in life, provide an overview of the definition of trauma, review keys to recovery and stability, and discuss implications for law enforcement, prosecutors, and victim services.
 

NCJFCJ Firearms TA Project Solicitation – Q&A Session

The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ), in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), invites proposals from communities to participate in the Domestic Violence Homicide Prevention Firearms Technical Assistance Project (FTAP). The overall objective of the FTAP is to help communities identify challenges limiting a more robust implementation of domestic violence firearms laws in their jurisdictions and assist them in establishing a localized response that is best suited to their communities’ unique needs and characteristics. NCJFCJ seeks proposals from communities reflective of the geographic diversity across the country, including rural, urban, suburban, and tribal settings, as well as sites with differing governing laws. 
 
NCJFCJ is conducting a one hour Q&A session on Wednesday, September 5, 2018 at 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET. Please register here for the Q&A. 
 
If you would like to hear the recording of the pre-application webinar held on August 14, 2018, please click here