EVAWI Webinar: “False Reports of Sexual Assault: Moving Beyond the Issues”

 
Tuesday, June 26th
90 Minutes
10:00 AM PT / 11:00 AM MT / 12:00 PM CT / 1:00 PM ET
 
One of the most important challenges for law enforcement training in sexual assault investigation is the idea that many – or even most – reports are false. These cases often have a number of “red flags” that raise suspicion in the minds of officers, investigators, and others, but actually represent the realistic dynamics of sexual assault.
 
The presenter will review differences between a false report versus a baseless report, and inconsistent statements versus lying. He will also discuss how law enforcement can unintentionally create a “false report,” by creating an environment where victims recant or withdraw. This will be contrasted with real case examples of false reports he has investigated throughout his career.
 
Objectives
 
At the conclusion of this webinar, participants will be better able to:
• Identify the “red flags” that raise suspicion of a sexual assault report.
• Recognize our gut reaction to these “red flags.”
• Recognize that these “red flags” are based on cultural stereotypes of “real rape.”
• Define a false report.
• Recognize that some information provided by the victim may not be accurate, but this does not necessarily mean it is a false report.
• Recognize how law enforcement professionals can create a “false report.”
• Reverse the cycle of suspicion that creates a “false report.”
• Identify how many sexual assault reports are actually false.