Sex Crimes Cold Cases: Learning from the Ghosts of Investigations Past

Wednesday, September 30th, 2020

10:00 AM PT/11:00 AM MT/12:00 PM CT/1:00 PM ET

Course Description

Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office (JSO) was one of the early grantees of the Bureau of Justice Assistance’s Sexual Assault Kit Initiative (SAKI), a program designed to address the nationwide plague of unsubmitted, untested sexual assault kits. JSO used SAKI funds to submit kits for analysis and also to assign advocates, investigators, and prosecutors to pursue investigative leads for previously overlooked cases. One of the outcomes of this initiative was a better understanding of sex crimes investigations – the challenges, shortcomings, and successes. Sergeant DeVevo will discuss the lessons learned, as well as the mistakes, and explore promising practices in cold case investigations.

Categories: Training